Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A heavy carriage: multicultural beings crawling about in a flurry,
I lean against the window; no hope of a seat,
I glance around curiously; creatures that share the same species as I,
What are they thinking of? dreaming of?

There is no interaction, totally engrossed in technology,
We are invisible to each other, irrelevant,
All bunched together physically but totally mentally detached,
No conversing, no smiling, just detached,

Plugged in we alienate ourselves.

Newspapers rustle delicately,
The hum of the moving train soothes this headache.
Click click click, a new message received,
No one glances up, devoid of inquisition.

There is something tranquil about the silence,
Eery but pleasant we become a microcosm of modern society.
Music pumping through the speakers, through ear canals,
Like a drug addict to heroine, we use music to escape.

The sun beats down welcoming the new day,
Lush green foliage lines the railway tracks,
The juxtaposition of nature vs man; poignant,
Graffiti on every concrete slab, litter scattered aimlessly.

I long to escape from this materialistic nihilism,
Pangs of sadness wash over me, consume me,
The fresh smell of washed linen floods my nostrils,
We have evolved, but simultaneously devolved.

It becomes distinctly obvious to me as I gaze,
That with our love for an electronic realm,
Soon forgetting emotions; interactions,
Soon to forget to love one another we fade, slowly, tragically.